IGNORED

Worried I May Never Have Another Cat :(

purjolok84

On the surface it seems very small - my partner and I have been renting our first place for about 10 months and just had our 2nd house inspection. We didn't bring or ask to have a pet right away, hoping that if we were seen to be good tenants we would have a better chance.

We've been told by the real estate agent that most likely it will be no. Our landlord also owns the unit in front of ours and the carpet/floorboards had to be replaced after the previous tenants' two cats and dog ruined them (which was a surprise to us - we didn't know about the dog and saw only one cat). There's no point in saying that we're not like that - I don't know what the future holds or what temperament any cat I may adopt may have.

I just feel strangely lonely. I left behind two cats (one specifically that was 'mine') with my parents and I barely see them anymore, when before I used to have conversations and cuddles and arguments behind the bathroom door. I have an ongoing friendship with the ginger cat next door but I can't rely on other people's cats for affection all the time. I just don't know if what I'm feeling (other than horribly disappointed) is normal. :(

I feel bad for you.  I've also had pets most of my life, and now I'm in a position where it's not a good idea to get another now that we're pet free due to the untimely death of our last cat.  Getting interaction for other people's pets just doesn't cut it, does it?  Hopefully you'll eventually be able to move to a location where you can get a pet.  But I guess it wouldn't hurt to ask the landlord if he or she would consider letting you have one if you provided a large deposit and let home inspections happen more frequently, and of course you'd have to choose your new cat carefully.  Probably won't happen, but it's worth a try.

That is a shame. I don't think it is abnormal to feel this loss.