IGNORED

"How to Change Your Husband"

CanticleoftheTurning

Hi all--total newbie here, though I've been lurking off and on for a couple of weeks now. I'm from a family that was...dysfunctional, shall we say? And it spilled over into religion, causing my parents to turn quasi-fundie Catholic. (Honestly, I'm surprised I'm still Catholic.) I've been working on a blog about growing up and healing from my dad's emotional and verbal abuse, when I remembered a book my dad gave my mom years ago.

It's called, "How to Change your Husband" by a "friend of Medjugorje".

http://www.amazon.com/Change-Your-Husband-Friend-Medjugorje/dp/1878909061/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1315927274&sr=8-1

I hadn't thought of it in ages until recently when I started reading up about it.

Can we say CULT!?!

It advocates total submission of women, saying that all of our country's ills are because of rebellious women. It even upholds the account of a woman who remained submissive to her husband even after he nearly killed her, hitting her with a hammer, as the "ideal" and the perfect example of being "submissive."

And apparently the entire book is based off of the "revelations" from Mary at Medjugorje (though either the revelations or the whole Medjugorje thing is BS, in my opinion.)

Have you guys ever run across this book, before?

Don't know that particular book, but conservative Catholic circles can be as crazy about this submission-stuff (and modesty!) as the other fundies discussed here, so I am not surprised, especially not as the apparitions of Medjugorje are rather conservative in nature (the things Mary supposedly said).

Indeed. I'm only beginning to scratch the surface of the whole conservative Catholic movement :shock: Thank God I escaped the fundie brand of Catholicism.

Y'know, that would completely explain her admiration of the Duggars....