IGNORED

American vs Swiss Buttercream

JoyfullyUnavailable

I have 2 questions regarding this topic:

1.  Which do you prefer the taste of, American or Swiss buttercream and why?

2.  Has anyone done a buttercream image transfer from wax paper and have it turn out? Will it work with a Swiss Buttercream? 

I'm making a birthday cake in about a week from now and I am having a terrible time making decisions on flavours and methods.

First, two disclaimers:

1. I am a semi professional baker (I'm in the process of expanding my business so that I am a 'true' professional).

2. I am Australian. Our methods and preferences tend to be different. Australians tend to prefer classic buttercream IME.

I would choose classic buttercream over French, Italian or Swiss any day. My classic buttercream is the number one thing customers comment on, without fail. The secret (well one of them) is the amount of time you whip the butter, then the amount of time you whip after the sugar is added. If you finish your buttercream in anything less than 15 minutes after you start it ... it is too rushed. Whip the butter by itself for at least 5 minutes, then ditto the sugar mix. It is also weather/temperature dependent. It sounds like you have a good amount of experience already, but when most people ask me how to improve their classic buttercream it is usually because they haven't taken long enough to really, really, REALLY beat it. It makes an amazing difference not only to taste but to working with it as well.

There is is a great tutorial on a YouTube channel called Mycupcakeaddiction. She whips it good, lol. I do other things to my buttercream as well, but I can't give away all of my secrets ;)

With regard to the transfer, the best thing you can do is experiment, IMO. Actually that is pretty much my approach to everything buttercream related. Try it - what have you got to lose? Except a few bucks worth of sugar and butter.

Good luck!