IGNORED

Dr.Amy Tuteur

roddma

I'm sure some of you have heard of Dr.Amy Tutuer. She is a retired OBGYN who is very outspoken against home birth/ natural child birth. She has a blog called The Skeptical OBGYN. She really blasted Jill Duggar's failed homebirth and most recently her CPM status.She may come across as brass, but she seems to know what she is talking about.

As a retired Mother/Baby nurse, I have followed Dr. Tuteur's blog for a long time. She really does have an abrasive tone, but she also makes very good points. Her chief crusade is against incompetent midwives at home births. Reading about some of the tragedies that have resulted have often left me sick.

This is a post I made on the All Things Dillard thread a few days ago:

Two of my online reading sites have intersected. I read Skeptical OB, which is devoted to pointing out the risks of homebirth, especially those attended by Certified Professional Midwife (not Certified Nurse Midwife, which requires about 8 years of education and training). I have run into mentions of some of our fundie moms in articles about unsafe home birth. And this week, a whole article was devoted to Jill's midwife credentials, entitled "Jill Duggar Dillard is Not a Real Midwife".

skepticalob.com/2015/09/jill-duggar-dillard-is-not-a-real-midwife-shes-a-cpm-a-counterfeit-professional-midwife.html (link is broken).

Just thought it was interesting.

I just can't get into her, even though I agree with almost every thing she says. I can deal with harsh and brash, but there is something else there, that I can't put a finger on, that sits with me wrong.

I am coming from this having a fairly opposite view of her, but I am also not one who supports unassisted midwives and wish there were more CNMs who did homebirths. Anyway, I do like that she is a voice of opposition bra use I know some people who essentially bully moms who opt to see an OB.