IGNORED

God stepping in....

Rebelwife

So I live where there was a school shooting yesterday at the University. Three people were shot, although thankfully it looks like all will be fine. The lone gunman, who appears to have had some significant mental health issues, was killed by police when he fired on them. All of this is so tragic, and hits so close to home - not only do I live here but I graduated from there and spent many nights in that library. All of this is preface to something else, I promise.

One of the most amazing and random stories that has come out of the event was that a student who probably would have been the first victim was protected by the books he had in his backpack. (Specifically a biography of John Wycliff for his Christian Traditions class but that's another wormhole altogether.......) In the newspaper this morning he is quoted as saying ""It was difficult to wrap my mind around, that I had been the first person that he shot," D______ said..... It was humbling to know that my life was in God's hands right there and he graciously spared me."...... I honestly think that this was a direct intervention from God," said D_____ who attends CrossWay Church every Sunday."

Why does this piss me off so much? I live in the South and I think some of this is just words that come out reflexively for some people and I know he had been through a tremendously stressful situation. I've been known to let out a "Thank God" myself, although if you called me on it I would say it was merely a habitual way of saying "I am so relieved."

I can't help but get my back up every time someone suggests they were spared of some horrible human or natural tragedy because God saw them as somehow more deserving than the people who weren't spared. Of course, I am not the kind of person who thinks God found you a parking space or even put that last miraculous dollar you needed to feed your children in the street for you to find, so that plays into it.