IGNORED

Altar'd State- Christian clothing store

socuteyoullpuke

Has anyone else heard of this store called Altar'd State?

there's one here in asheville, it's a clothing store that kinda reminds me of a cheaply made, overly lace obsessed, Anthropologie. After a few times browsing the store, I realized they were only playing christian rock..They definitely don't have an emphasis on modest clothing.

anyway I looked up their website later and along with having an incredibly vague mission statement of helping people, they also have a captionless/descriptionless picture of a few presumably third world brown children, and one of the founders lists "one person they truly respect" as Mark Driscoll. :pink-shock: http://www.altardstate.com/our-story/pe ... ian-mason/

I'm really a rookie snarker, but I feel like the website is ripe for the picking..

They have a store going into our local mall. I commented to my husband that they chose a rather strange name. It reminded me of the old Blair Brown/William Hurt movie Altered States. Creepy movie. About drugs. My 15yo now associates that movie with the store.

Yes, I have corrupted my daughter. LOL

They really didn't think that name through very well. "Altar'd" can very well be perceived as an affront to the mentally disabled. Just saying.

pinterest.com/altardstate/

well they're going to draw ex-conservatives like flies to honey. So many of my ex-fundie ex-menno friends dress exactly like this. Heavy eyeliner, nude lipstick, dark eyebrows. And lots of burlap and lace. (or maybe that's just standard Christian fashion these days? i don't have a clue.) :lol:

Wow

This could have been an actual photo of a wedding dress recently, except the ex-fundie girl's dress had less sleeve. i had no idea that the bride was that fashion forward.

post-10046-1445199931714_thumb.jpg

That wedding dress is simply GORGEOUS. I wish I were getting married, because I want that for me!