IGNORED

Is there a fundy location directory?

DGayle

Not their addresses, but general area. I'm new to where I now live, and I keep seeing people with big hair, white sneakers, and frumpers, and wonder if any could be around here. I have a friend in another state asking if I know of any around her too.

If you live in the Deep South like me, they are all around. I'm from Alabama, and they are everywhere. Most fundies I know don't belong to groups like ATI or the former VF. They tend to be IFB, Pentecostal, Assembly of God, Church of Christ, etc. But don't let the clothing fool you. It's the hate that spews from their mouths.

You could always just ask directly, in the guise of wanting a good church to join. Another good way to find out is to check their blogs and websites and to see if any known fundies are coming to visit a city near you. Apparently, I am actually neck-deep in fundie visits and organizations here in Texas, but I keep missing them. Most of them I find out about here on FJ, and then when I can go see them, I'm usually too lazy to want to make the drive. ;)

Living in a dry county also tends to attract fundie visitors (the Duggars chose to visit a town in my state, probably because it didn't sell liquor anywhere except for in restaurants). And of course, having a scandal always helps - I've been hearing a whole lot about Doug Philips (who is a tool and much worse) since his scandal made headlines here.

If you go online many community websites have church directories. A Pentecostal or IFB congregation could be your likely culprits.

I think it's an urban vs. rural thing too. I live in a large city, and my local fundies are Hasidic Jews. Certain parts of the Midwest your fundies are likely Mennonite or Amish. In the southwest you have FLDS, and in the south you have your garden variety Baptist/Pentecostal. But of course, there is a lot of geographical crossover!