IGNORED

Abigail Finally Sees Importance of K-5 Ed

GeoBQn

Abigail writes a post about education that would probably make my retired teacher father weep.

abigails-alcove.blogspot.com/2014/01/a-new-love-for-elementary-education.html

I'm a Jane Come Lately to the joy of elementary school teaching. By my nature, I'm a secondary school teacher. High School Government, Art, and AP English--easy. My husband could teach college Organic Chemistry while in a headstand. This is the stuff that we talk happily around the table at dinner. My daughter was the one who knew how many times a single strand of DNA could wrap around the world in second grade, but still didn't know how to read.

How does she know she's a "secondary school teacher" when she has no children that age and doesn't have a background in education? And I think it's sad that her didn't know how to read in 2nd grade--that was the age when I was hiding a flashlight under my pillow so that I could read American Girl books in bed after my parents tucked me in.

Oh, I was so excited for a moment thinking Abigail had put her kiddies in school. You know, she did just get a full size fridge. I thought, maybe, a general state of rationality was overtaking her mind.

Oh, I was so excited for a moment thinking Abigail had put her kiddies in school. You know, she did just get a full size fridge. I thought, maybe, a general state of rationality was overtaking her mind.

If her second grader can't read, public school would probably put her in a special reading program, which would piss Abigail off because her kid is smart. (And I am sure she is. But she is not learning)

She really is something else. Choice quotes from this post:

I can't be patient and kind with my kid/student, until I've figured out how to feed my own soul first.

Of course not, because everything is always about you, isn't it? No matter what it is, it all comes back to Abigail and what she needs.