IGNORED

Mikaela's life goals

Daenerys

Everything is just about serving and submitting and sitting pretty at Daddy's waiting for a man to come find you, and preparing to be a homemaker when that might never happen. I feel sad at the lack of urge to expand her horizons. There's so much more to life than what happens at home. She's clearly got a brain and it's such a pity she didn't go to a real college and learn to use it.

Six months before I graduated from high school, when I had no plan, I felt as though I were racing at Eric Liddell speed for a giant ravine. When the day came, I’d hold my breath, take a leap, and hope I made it across!

Yesterday afternoon, five years later, I opened up an old hunter green composition book in which I printed in blue ink, “Life after High School.†I still remember brainstorming the list, trying to think of every possible avenue to which the Lord might want me to give a wedge of time after I graduated. Reading over it, I see a lot of opportunies I have completed, a lot of choices I still need to make, and a lot of options the Lord has recently brought that I never dreamed of at the time I wrote the list.

Before I give my (updated) list, a few caveats:

· There is no human way to accomplish all of this. Don’t try to stuff the ravine of the unknown with filler as a way to bridge the gap. If a few ideas stand out to you, pray about them and bring them to your parents before cramming everything in.

· There is one noticeable exception to this list: college. But I decided that was the old stand-by that everyone would write, so at 18 I left it off. I still like that logic.

· Be creative. Just because you desire to stay under your parents’ authority doesn’t mean your list or life will look like mine! This is just a compilation of a few ideas to get you started and productive.

The List

1. Memorize the Bible. (1 John, Psalm 119, etc.)

2. Read at least one nonfiction book a month and write a report.

3. Bake bread.

4. Write a book.