IGNORED

Vykie NLQ?

Avii

Hello, newbie here!

I've noticed a few people refer to Vykie from NLQ with disdain. Can anyone give me any backstory on this? I originally asked on the Razing Ruth thread but figured here was probably a much better place to ask.

Thanks in advance!

I don't really have any disdain for Vykie.

Some of the annoyance stems from her relationship with her daughter Angel. It seems that while Vykie was fundie she allowed abuse to occur toward Angel. My memory is crappy though so someone else can give you specifics.

It's of interest again because of the RR malarkey.

I've noticed either factual, she is this did that etc. To some heavy disdain.

Is she still about the webs?

Didn't she say that RR gave her "proof"? Pretty clear that there was no real proof provided, but I am curious what RR gave her.

Maybe this is off topic, but does anyone know what happened with her daughter Angel?

Miss reading her blog and hoping she is doing well.

I read in the RR thread that RR may be Vykie? No idea who Vykie is-- if anyone does, would be great to have a short summary. Did she run scams like RR?

Thanks for these responses. I'm gleaning more information from the RR thread, too. NLQ was how I first heard of the quiverfull movement, so I'm quite interested.

A long time ago, before NLQ moved to Patheos, Vyckie's entire story was up in a series of twenty-five or thirty posts. I don't know if they are findable on the Wayback or archived elsewhere or not. There were bits in them about Vyckie's relationship with her oldest daughter that were painful to read. If I had been barely adult and struggling with mental health issues as her daughter was, I wouldn't have appreciated my mother posting about them on the internet - feels like a terrible breach of privacy. I hope that is why the posts aren't there anymore, but I don't know.