IGNORED

Scary nutrition plan for teenagers over at Erika's blog?

largefamiliesonpurpose.com/2013/05/losing-baby-weight-part-1-diet-plan.html

(I searched for this topic but apologize if it's been posted before. This is my first time starting a thread, but I was so upset that I just had to do it.)

I'm not a dietician by any means, and more power to Erika if this is what she wants for herself, but when I read that she was imposing this plan on the oldest girl (fifteen), I was really concerned. It seems A.) really limiting nutritionally, and B.) not enough calories for an active fifteen-year-old. I'm even more disturbed that she's referring to her teenage daughter as "on a diet," especially when she looks to be perfectly healthy in all of her pictures. Fundies always talk about sheltering their children from the evils of the world, but it looks to me like this is a recipe for body issues from Mommy Dearest herself. :(

Combined with the fact that some of her kids have always looked itty bitty to me in pictures, especially compared to their siblings, I really worry for these kids and their relationships with food/eating. The oldest boy in particular looks so much smaller than his three-years-younger sister and about the same size as his four-years-younger brother; it's hard to believe he's ten! Obviously this could be a perfectly normal part of growing, but since Erika has always posted adamantly about serving all her kids the same food and no exceptions, I doubt any of them would be getting any extra nutrition if they needed it.

Only one other person so far has commented on Erika's post expressing any kind of concern for her daughter, so I just had to make this thread in hopes that FJ-ites would edumacate her. Or at least make me feel less alone in thinking she is some certified fresh grade-A crazy this week.

• Replies 96
  • Created
  • Last Reply