IGNORED

$7K in Food Stamps?

roddma

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I worked as an eligibility worker and I think that the 7k in FS could well be an urban myth along the lines that many people on FS purchase lobster tails, etc with them. Sure there are some abuses but normally people really do not get that much on FS. However, the part about one person on FS driving a Mercedes may well be true. In California, all vehicles are exempt property even one's airplane and yacht. Actually the Mercedes may be all that is left after the person lost his job.

I think it's strange that the clerk could allegedly see the balance. I got food stamps (EBT) in CA for a couple months a few years ago. It was like a normal debit card, and I'm 99% positive the clerk could not see the balance.

I received around $200 a month, which was kind of a lot for a single person. But I'm glad we have them, and I'd much prefer we have a system that's occasionally abused rather then no help for those in need. The lack of compassion and sense from the commenters on that article is embarrassing.

The part about balance showing on the recipt is true.

http://www.hhsc.state.tx.us/providers/l ... y_benefits

Do I need to keep my receipts?

Yes. Your receipts show how much you have left in your account (your balance). You will get a receipt every time you use the Lone Star Card.

Always get your receipt from the cashier. Make sure the amount printed on the receipt matches the amount you spent or withdrew.

Keep your receipts in case there are questions about your balance. You should keep your last receipt with your Lone Star Card.

If you have a question about a purchase or balance, show your receipt to the store manager.

(back to top)

How can I check my balance?

Your last receipt will show your balance.

If you lose your last receipt, call 1-800-777-7328.

Always check your balance before you go to the store.

link not broken: public site

ETA: fix tag