IGNORED

Any other sewers?

Claddagh

What all do you make?

Right now I'm mostly making historical costumes. I really like Victorian and Edwardian fashions so most of my costumes reflect that.

The doll clothes I make are all over the place period fashion wise and I most often make them out of scraps.

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply
What all do you make?

Right now I'm mostly making historical costumes. I really like Victorian and Edwardian fashions so most of my costumes reflect that.

The doll clothes I make are all over the place period fashion wise and I most often make them out of scraps.

I dabble. I can work from very basic patterns, though sometimes need help from someone more experienced. I do costume design several times a year for one of our local youth musical theatre companies. I want to learn more, especially since my daughter has recently gotten into cosplay, and has a whole list of costumes she wants made. :)

I'm a self taught sewer. Mostly I make clothes for my kids, and I've started dabbling in making some basic skirts and things for myself. I really love making accesories, like fabric storage buckets and cowls.

You guys have some seriously awesome skills! I've only got back into sewing in the last year or so (partly due to not having a machine or any ideas) I'm not a huge fan of making clothes (although I did make a dress as part of my textiles GCSE) although I have seen blogs where they buy clothes from charity shops and refashion them/use the fabric for something else, would that be a good place to start? I also want to make things like cushions and little zippy bags. This is a really good tutorial that I've used to make the bags: skiptomylou.org/2009/01/14/how-to-make-a-lined-zipper-pouch-tutorial/

My grandma taught me when I was eleven. I got my start making small doll clothes and stuffed animals.