IGNORED

Is this an FJ-er? (One Bright Corner SAHDs)

Daenerys

onebrightcorner.blogspot.co.uk/2012/08/the-myth-of-no-mans-land-between.html#comment-form

Someone posted this in response to a post in OBC where the writer, Lauren, was extoling the virtues of the period in between childhood and marriage (she is 22). There are rarely people who openly challenge what these girls believe - I have tested and they post all politely worded comments - so I wondered where on earth this came from!

At 22, I had been working as a nurse for 3 years. I didn't marry until 27 and didn't have children until 30. I am now a grandmother in my late 50's and a Christian over 45 years.

Stay at home daughterhood is not taught by Christ. Preferably stay at home momhood, but not daughterhood. It is a doctrine of man and you are wise to question this, because it will bury your talent, for which you will have to answer, handicap and possibly destroy your future, or that of your future children. The things you accomplish being a stay at home daughter - caring for a home - anyone can learn quickly. It does not take years of apprenticeship.

Christ is to be our focus, not family or marriage. I suggest you use these between years to get an education utilizing the talents you have been given and which can realistically provide for your future, and use it. You will then be far better prepared for yourself, your family, your husband, for Christ; should the need to work arise after marriage, or if you do not marry.

Marriage is not the end all be all. Some never marry. The bible actually says that to not marry is the better state to be in. Some are widowed. Some are divorced. Some are left with sick or dying husbands. There are no guarantees. The only guarantee we have is our salvation in Christ.