IGNORED

Someone PLEASE teach me to apply eyeliner...

Mela99

I'm 31 and I cannot apply eyeliner to save my life. I can use a liner brush and get a little along the lash line. Lately I've been trying to learn more because I REALLY want to use it. I found a tightlining eyeliner at sephora and I really love that. I can do the upper waterline... but I can only just do a basic touch and my eyes still run like a faucet. I've tried to use gel, liquid, ink pens... you name it, I have it, and I just want to be able to apply a basic line of black eyeliner . Does anybody have a suggestion? 

i'm not very good at this, but my sister doesn't make fun of me (and she's the type who would be snarky about it), so my results must not suck too much....

i use a pencil--varying colors, including JRod green--that i sharpen before each use.  i draw a narrow line on the edge of the upper lid all the way across.  then on the lower lid, i go under the lash line and draw another narrow line on the outer half only.  where the 2 lines meet at the outer corner, i extend it about 1/8" out and a teeny bit up.  i don't use liquid liner because i don't have a steady hand and the pencil hides my mistakes a little, but if you can draw a neater line, yours might look better.  

it looks ok with black or dark gray, usually with medium-gray shadow.  i actually learned it in 1989 from a Mary Kay lady.

• 3 months later...

Try getting a pencil liner such as Maybelline pencils, or an eyeliner pen like a Wet and Wild line pen, and steady your arm on a solid table. By getting a pencil or a stiff pen, you are able to get a firm line, and by stabling your arm you are able to avoid shakiness. NYX also makes a product that helps you get perfect cat eyes (I think it's called The Curve?), but I've never tried it so idk. And remember, practice makes perfect! When I started doing makeup, I was a mess, but 5 years later I'm a pro!

• 5 months later...