IGNORED

Substitutes for Cream of Whatever Soups

kpmom

I've read some posts on FJ that refer to cream of chicken or mushroom soups as cream of crap.

I admit (a little embarrassed) that I do use these in casseroles sometimes (o.k., a lot).

Does anyone have any recommendations for a substitute for these?

I read somewhere maybe a simple white sauce could be used, but that seems very bland (although I usually use the low sodium or healthy choice variety).

Also, I am a very lazy cook (hence, the soups) so I'm looking for an easy substitute.

A white sauce built around whatever flavor you need. Saute onions, garlic, celery, mushrooms,etc. in butter until soft and translucent, then add your flour and build a roux. Use half vegetable, mushroom, or chicken stock and half milk. Dried mushrooms reconstituted with a little white wine will add a nice flavor. Add fresh herbs, like thyme, savory, or dill.  Salt pepper, maybe a little lemon zest to punch up the flavor. Or simmer an old parmesan rind in your stock before adding it to the sauce. Stir in a tablespoon of tomato paste into the veggies as they saute or maybe some pureed roasted red peppers? This is disjointed but hopefully you get the idea.

I make cream of mushroom from scratch and freeze it in small containers. I can post a recipe later. It's not fabulous, but the unpronounceables aren't in it.  My white sauce is bland, so I add cheddar cheese when I make scalloped potatoes.

I'm a lazy cook too, and would like an easier method. I buy canned, but only rarely.  I do the scratch so that we can eat a little more healthily. 

My problem with making white sauce based things is that I love to eat the roux too much.  I start tasting it (to make sure the raw flour taste is gone) and bam, I've eaten too much!  Butter and flour -YUM!