• Banana
  • Apple
  • Emerald
  • Chocolate
  • Charcoal
hoipolloi

Don't Call Him Steve Anderson

98 posts in this topic

For those who have asked about using using PP vs. Steve Anderson, Zsu has now provided guidance:

I often get asked, "What do you call your husband at home?"

Obviously, I call him by his first name, Steve. But at church, or when talking to church members and others who only know him as a pastor, I always refer to him as "Pastor Anderson." Even when directly addressing him, I avoid calling him by his first name when others can hear. We have been in the ministry long enough to know that people who are too chummy with the pastor quickly become disrespectful and treat him as a buddy, not an elder as the Bible admonishes. This attitude then spreads like a wildfire.

So go ahead & use Steve Anderson -- it will annoy the piss out of him.

After reading this, couldn't help thinking of that godawful 1970s guy, "You can call me Ray:"

I think I'm going to go with Steviebooboo.

Hi Steviebooboo! :562479a7d0aec_Thingsaregrandinthemiddlefinger:

:pb_rollseyes: I live in the south, so I see a lot of this.  It annoys me.  I am past my  mid 30s and I still prefer to be called by my first name- by everyone.  Calling me my last name instead of my first doesn't equal respect to me.  

He expects everyone to call him Pastor Anderson. I saw a clip of an interview he did & he was pissed when the guy he was being interviewed by got pissed that he didn't call him Pastor. 

10 hours ago, hoipolloi said:

people who are too chummy with the pastor quickly become disrespectful and treat him as a buddy, not an elder as the Bible admonishes.

Um.

This isn't something I've ever seen in my churches. Ever. He's hanging on to his string of authority with all the fear he's got in him.

A lot of those people are probably his elders.  He is only 35.  

I'd rather have a buddy than have "respect" that hinged on being called "pastor".