IGNORED

17 yo Mary Maxwell is just starting her Junior year.

Justme

I'm quite surprised that she is a year behind. Most 17yo's are starting their Senior year. I guess I shouldn't be, all that traveling for the family "business" must keep her away from her studies. :roll:

Oh, yeah, Teri posted a blog about not taking 1st school day pictures over the past few years.... :shrug:

• Replies 104
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I actually think that is a nice post from Teri. 17 is pretty normal for juniors. I turned 17 just after the beginning of my junior year.

Wasn't there a post about a year or so ago about how Mary was accelerating her studies so she could graduate early? What happened?

Granted, I have a summer birthday, but I graduated high school at 17 and all of my friends were done by 18 at the latest.

I'm quite surprised that she is a year behind. Most 17yo's are starting their Senior year. I guess I shouldn't be, all that traveling for the family "business" must keep her away from her studies. :roll:

Oh, yeah, Teri posted a blog about not taking 1st school day pictures over the past few years.... :shrug:

Most seniors aren't necessarily 17. It depends on the cut-off date for the state they are in. My daughter will be turning 17 her Junior Year, due to the cut off.

I remember reading a while back that she was accelerating so that she could finish and be more involved in the dog & pony show... that apparently didn't happen. I guess if this were my last of umpteen kids that I wouldn't be terribly gung-ho about homeschooling anymore, but what a disservice to Mary. I graduated high school at 17 and didn't turn 18 until I was well away at college, where Mary isn't planning to go. Sigh.

I thought Mary was working through the last 2 summers to graduate early.

I wonder if she did not do well. What do you guys think?