IGNORED

Skiing

crazyforkate

Hi FJ skiiers! I come from a town in British Columbia where skiing is pretty much universal. When I was ten months old and learned to stand, my dad excitedly put me on skis in the front yard, even though there wasn't any snow yet! Mostly my skiing has been in and out of British Columbia, Alberta and Washington, but I did enjoy a vacation in Tahoe several years back. I haven't hit the slopes much since my move to Toronto, but am definitely fond of the sport and try to get back to it every time I'm in BC. There's something so invigorating about hurtling yourself down an icy slope at high speed, no? It wrecked my knees, but totally worth it :D

One of my bucket list goals is to ski in far away and less frequented resorts, including Chimbulak in Kazakhstan and Afri-Ski in Lesotho. Maybe one day.

I do more XC skiing than downhill these days, but I did enjoy downhill, just not the cost.

• 2 years later...

I'm a professional Ski & Snowboard instructor, so obviously I think that snow sports are pretty ace. :D

Most of my skiing has been in Washington state, USA, although I did get to ski at Les Gets in the Alps once, which was incredible and awesome and breathtaking, and the snow was soooooo fluffy. 

• 1 month later...

I do some XC skiing but I've never done downhill. I've always wanted to though!

One of my former colleagues/ work buddies was a professional downhill ski racer in the 90's. He got to travel the world as a high schooler going to competitions.