IGNORED

Drawing/sketching

LilMissMetaphor

Disclaimer: I am not skilled (at all), but there is a school of thought that you can teach yourself to sketch reasonably well with a bit of time and effort.

A couple of years ago I bought Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain by Betty Edwards, and made my way through most of the exercises. I liked it, although it got a bit too mystical at times (get yourself into a trance, etc.) I did find some good tips and help in there.

Recently I just picked up Keys to Drawing by Bert Dodson and though I've just started, I'm liking it better. It's very direct and practical.

Anyone else like to draw or sketch?

I like drawing, I would like to draw my own comic book but I am not that good at drawing, I still draw like I am about 10. My younger sister is amazing at drawing, both realistic and cartoon/anime style people and draws for her own webcomic. I wish I could draw that well.

I can draw things that are quite cute though, theres this one story me and my friend made which was hilarious, and I drew the pictures for it.

I just cant draw things as well as I would like to :(

I draw. I've had my work described as a cross between anime and realism. I've taken several art classes in the past and mostly do fashion plates and sci-fi works.

I'm an art student, but I'm taking a bit of a break to feel around art-wise and rediscover myself. Art school is LOADS more work than people think it is, and several combined stress factors were driving me nuts. :(

I seem to draw fish, dinosaurs, robots, and mermaids. I also enjoy painting flowers.

Ilovejellybeans, would you mind sharing your sister's comic with us?

Disclaimer: I am not skilled (at all), but there is a school of thought that you can teach yourself to sketch reasonably well with a bit of time and effort.